17 December 2021

The Twelve Tribes of Israel

13 Tevet 5782
Erev Shabbat Kodesh
Parashat Vayechi

"All these are the tribes of Israel - twelve - and this is what their father spoke to them and he blessed them; he blessed each according to his appropriate blessing."  (Bereshit 49:28)

When Levi is counted, Ephraim and Menashe count as one - Yosef, but when Levi is not counted, as in the division of the land where Levi does not inherit (Hashem being their portion), then Ephraim and Menashe are counted separately.  There are always 12 tribes. 


No comments:

Post a Comment